Kenya has retained its spot at the International Telecommunications Union (ITU) Council at the on going Plenipotentiary meeting Busan, South Korea.

Kenya came in third with 127votes after Mali and Ghana who had 133 and 130 votes respectively.  It was also a win for East Africa as Rwanda, Uganda and Tanzania got elected into the Council. Other African countries that were elected include Mali, Algeria, Burkina Faso, Egypt, Ghana, Morocco, Nigeria, Senegal and Tunisia.

Mr. Stanley K. Kibe, the Authority’s Director, Frequency Spectrum Management, received an overwhelming endorsement for his bid as chair of the Radio Regulations Board with 163 out of the 167 votes cast.

Mr. Houlin Zhou from China will take the helm at the specialized United Nations Agency on ICT matters. He will be deputized by Mr. Malcom Johnson from United Kingdom.

Kenya’s glory is attributable to the active role it has played and continues to play in the ICT sector regionally, continentally and globally. The outgoing ITU Secretary General, Dr. Hamadoun Toure, lauded Kenya's vibrant ICT sector, citing its adoption and widespread use of mobile money transfer services as “a local solution to a local problem”.

ICT Cabinet Secretary, Dr.Fred Matiang’i led the Kenya delegation that comprised of senior officers from the Ministry of ICT, some members of CA top management and Board Directors. “I’m very happy we have done this, team Kenya. A superb job. I would like to single out Communications Authority of Kenya Director General Francis Wangusi and his team for being well organized, innovative and devising a winning strategy,’’ said an elated Dr. Matiang’i immediately after the election. Dr. Matiang’i added that Kenya’s commitment to the ITU shall remain steadfast.

Sitting in the ITU Council gives the country an opportunity to be part of the oversight body that ensures implementation of ITU policies and resolutions.

Kenya has been a member of the Council since 1982. The ITU Council comprises 48 members who are divided into five regions:Region A: The Americas (9 slots), Region B: Western Europe (8 slots), Region C: Eastern Europe and Northern Asia (5 slots), Region D: Africa (13 slots) and Region E: Asia and Australasia (13 slots).

The Plenipotentiary Conference, which takes place every four years, is the top policy-making body of the ITU. Member States at the Conference set the Union’s general policies, adopts four-year strategic and financial plans and elects the senior management team of the organization, the members of the ITU Council, and the members of the Radio Regulations Board.

For the full results, visit the ITU website: