CA Director General addresses the media during a press briefing held to announce the Analogue Switch off dates

The Authority together with the Ministry today announced the dates for the phased switch off of analogue signals. Nairobi will usher in the new year by migrating to the digital broadcasting platform. The second phase shall be implemented on 2nd February 2015 and shall cover Mombasa, Malindi, Nyeri, Meru, Kisumu, Webuye, Kakamega, Kisii, Nakuru, Eldoret, Nyahururu (Nyadundo), Machakos, Narok and Loldiani (Rongai). The third and final phase will take place on 30th March 2015 and shall cover Garissa, Kitui, Lodwar, Lokichogio, Kapenguria, Kabarnet, Migori, Voi (Vuria), Mbwinzau/Kibwezi, Namanga and all other remaining sites.

The DG during a press briefing, held at the Ministry of ICT to announce the dates, said that the dates were arrived at following several consultative meetings with the relevant parties. He further said that, “the Authority has commenced the process that will result in the issuance of an infrastructure licence for self-provisioning signal distribution for the three media houses, this is in line with the recommendation of the Supreme Court”.

The Cabinet Secretary urged Kenyans to purchase set top boxes that will enable them access the exciting world of digital broadcasting. He also sought collaboration and continued partnership with the media houses, vendors and other players in the broadcasting sector.

The proposed analogue switch off shall enable the country transition TV broadcasting in Kenya to the digital platform well ahead of the international deadline of 17th June 2015.