Skip to main content
Submitted by cademo_admin on June 3, 2023

The Authority supported the establishment of 16 School-based ICT centers, two in each of the eight provinces in the country. The primary objective of establishing these centres is to build ICT capacity and skills development in country.

The strategy is informed by  the high absorption and diffusion rate of new skills and technology within the students’ age-group.  Moreover, there is already in place an IT curriculum from the Ministry of Education that is to facilitate immediate uptake of the training.  The centers are expected to serve the school and the neighboring communities.

In this project, the Authority supplied each of the selected school with a server, four (4) computers, and a printer. In addition to this, the Authority supported the cost of servicing and maintenance for one year effective from May 2007, including the provision of free Internet connectivity. As part of their contribution to this project, telecommunication operators in the country committed to provide free Internet connectivity for at least 12 months.

Table 1: The number and names of 16 beneficiaries of the School based ICT program:

  Province District Division School
1 Coast Tana River Garsen Tarasaa Sec School
2 Coast Taita Taveta Wundanyi Mwakiwiwi Sec School
3 Eastern Isiolo Garbatulla Garbatulla High School
4 Eastern Meru North Tigania Central Kaliene Sec School
5 Nyanza Nyamira Manga Nyaikuro Sec School
6 Nyanza Suba Mfangano Island Kakiimba Sec School
7 Central Rift Valley Laikipia Ngobit Wiyumiririe Sec School
8 South Rift Valley Kajiado Mashuuru Mashuuru Sec School
9 Western Busia Nambale Nambale Sec School
10 Western Kakamega Shinyalu Mukhonje Sec School
11 Central Thika Gatanga Kamunyaka Kiumu Sec School
12 Central Kirinyaga Ndia Kamuiru Sec School
13 Nairobi Westlands Kangemi Kangemi High School
14 Nairobi Mathare Mathare St. Teresa Girls’Sec School
15 N. Eastern Garissa Daadab Daadab Sec School
16 N. Eastern Wajir Wajir Township Sabunley Sec School